Install Ubuntu 12.04 LTS on Lenovo Ideapad S205

I want to use Ubuntu as operation system just because I don’t have a legal license of Windows, and I want to use not a free, but a legal one. And I feel a little bit bored in using Windows, because we have to really care to prevent entering viruses that rise rapidly.

I had failed to install Ubuntu on my laptop twice, but tonight I ask for a help to Mahyuddin Ramli. He is a developer of BlankOn operation system. We didn’t need much more time to install it. And finally my Lenovo Ideapad S205 and Ubuntu 12.04 LTS works properly. The problem is on Bios system. No big deal, only on bios.

 Firstly I installed this lenovo on the first five days after I bought it. And the result was I had to reinstall Windows. And the second time was the same. We couldn't find the problem that occur on bios system. Yesterday I emailed Mahyuddin to ask how to install this operation system on my laptop because he has the same laptop and he successfully installed it on the same one. I made an appointment at 10PM, but I met him at 8.30PM because suddenly I got flu and I had to finish it earlier and went to bed.

He has a wonderful knowledge about operation system based on GNU Linux, this is his passion. Yes he is. It made him easy to modify this system. After he did a little change to my flashdisk as my live cd Ubuntu OS to install it on my laptop. Then he wrote on a letter the step that I had to follow to install it. Just some lines and I did. When I got stuck, I ask. It is like what you see below.

Asumsi linux di sda7

mount /dev/sda7 /mnt

mount -t proc proc /mnt/proc

mount -t sysfs sys /mnt/sys

mount -o bind /dev /mnt/dev

chroot /mnt

apt-get update

apt-get install grub

grub-install /dev/sda7

grub

root (hd0,6)

setup (hd0)

quit

update-grub

exit

reboot

if it doesn't work properly, just uninstall grub2 by using apt-get remove grub*. And repeat the step above. Trust me, it works. Now Ubuntu works properly on my lenovo S205. Good Luck. 

4 thoughts on “Install Ubuntu 12.04 LTS on Lenovo Ideapad S205

  1. mas…saya punya laptop yg sama dengan diatas..dan ingin menginstal ubuntu 12.04…
    mungkin mas zakiul berkenan memberikan langkah2nya agar leptop saya terinstal ubuntu..
    terimakasih,,

Comment

